Top 5 Books to Read If The Last Book You Read was Gone Girl

Nicole Doliner

At this point, Gone Girl is such a pervasive part of our media -- the book came out in 2012, followed by a movie in 2014 starring Ben Affleck -- that often times, people ask me for book recommendations, they reference it assuming I’ve read it (they’re right). I feel like this book really set off a firestorm of new psychological thrillers, so if you’re struggling to figure out what to read in the same vein as Gillian Flynn’s bestseller, check these out. 

The Woman In the Window by AJ Finn

good-thriller-books



Anna Fox has agoraphobia and spends her days alone in her New York apartment, drinking (too much) wine, shopping online, and spying on her neighbors. When some new neighbors that move in nearby,  she sees something she shouldn’t see. This book will make you question what’s real, what isn’t and if you can trust your own judgment. 

The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris


best-thrillers-books

I would argue that this is one of the first, and best, books of the psychological thriller genre. This book was published in 1988 and turned into a movie in 1991. It follows Clarice Starling as she tries to hunt down a serial killer, Buffalo Bill, with the help of notorious cannibal Hannibal Lecter. The way he gets into her mind - and the mind of the reader - is unparalleled. I think the book is even better than the movie and includes more nuanced and is absolutely worth a read, even if you’ve seen the movie dozens of times as I have. 

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

new-thriller-novels

Every marriage is different - but you never know what goes on when they’re alone. Jack & Grace look like they have the perfect marriage - but do they? This book is a wild ride through a relationship. I don’t want to give too much away, but you really get invested in the characters, especially Grace’s sister with a mental disability, Millie. It was impossible to put down. 


sponsored by:

crime-blog-lifestyle-blog-crime-stories.png

No Exit by Taylor Adams

scary-thriller-book

Darby Thorne is a college student driving home to her sick mother through a Colorado blizzard and gets snowed in at a small rest stop off the highway. She discovers a young child, alive but freezing, in a cage in the back of a van in the parking lot. She comes to the terrible realization that one of the travelers she’s snowed in with is a kidnapper. Who can she trust? How can she save this child? Every page brought a new twist and I was addicted to this book. I read it in less than 24 hours! 

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

the-couple-next-door-book

Marco & Anne have a new baby, Cora, and they leave her in her crib with the walkie-talkie while they head to a dinner at their next-door neighbor’s house. Cora goes missing, and it sets off a chain of events for this family that uncovers deep secrets and shakes up everything they thought they knew about each other. The plot moves at breakneck speed and you won’t be able to put this one down. 

What are your favorite psychological thrillers? 

Pin This for Later

books-like-gone-girl
.1 Comment